A PLEASANT SURPRISE!


Sometimes it seems like all you do is work and that there is no balance in your life. You know what I mean. I know I’m not alone in feeling that way.

As many of you know, through my blogged record of Travel Updates and in an attempt to bring humour to my ridiculously long commute to work; the inevitable disasters with strikes, delays and crowded, overly loud public transport, life can be a struggle. You know that.

I rise at 5am and leave home before the birds have even started to welcome the day. In the dark winter mornings, I despair most of all.

Don’t get me wrong, I love teaching but is it so wrong to want a job in London, rather than halfway across the country in Hampshire.

Over the past 3 years, I’ve spent so little time at home that I couldn’t even tell you the colour of the walls. Ok, a slight exaggeration but I do l like to over-dramatise.

People say, you have been with your partner a long time, what’s the secret? My usual response is that a healthy relationship is based upon not actually ever seeing each other! Of course, I don’t mean that. Never take anything I say too seriously.

A colleague remarked that he was amazed that I could remain so cheerful. I don’t know how I do it either. You just have to keep struggling on and find the energy somewhere.

This is all leading to something, I promise.

Originally employed as a lowly teacher, my colleagues soon got wind of my passion for Equality Advocacy and before I knew it I was invited to join the E&D Committee – next I was recruited to work, unofficial my as the Equality and Diversity Co-ordinator.

I’ll tell you all, perhaps not all, in another blog, but suffice to say, I soon had the reputation as the go-to-man with all matters E&D.

I love making real, honest and human connections and before I knew it I had colleagues wanting to share and disclose some pretty personal things about their lives; for many this being their first opportunity to engage in conversation about deeply personal and sometimes painful concerns. No “ism” was missed off the list and this was overwhelming positive for myself and I’ve been told, for those who trusted me enough to disclose and seek a friendly, unjudgemental and supportive friend.

Yes, colleagues can be friends – it can happen.

Well, besides my own equality projects, I was tasked with writing a training package for staff and students. Additionally, I’ve organised an annual Pro-Equality Festival, which has had untold personal, professional and social benefits for students and the wider community.

I don’t seek out praise, but I’m human and sometimes it would be lovely to hear that your efforts are appreciated, that you are valued in some way.

So, today, out of the blue, I received the following email. I was taken utterly by surprise but I am deeply touched and frankly overwhelmed to think that even one person has felt strongly enough to nominate me for an award.

This is what the email said:

Dear David Watters,

Congratulations! You have been nominated for The Unsung Hero: Education Award for The Excellence in Diversity Awards 2015!

The Excellence in Diversity awards 2015 – an exclusive awards ceremony that honours the remarkable work of inclusive employers and unsung diversity heroes across all sectors.

The Excellence in Diversity Awards is the only awards ceremony that rewards UK organisations for harnessing a truly diverse workforce, thus recognising the significant efforts of companies nationwide that excel in their commitment to diversity and inclusion.

The Excellence in Diversity Awards also focus on leading diversity champions, significant role models and extraordinary employees that have displayed motivation, innovation and commitment to the equality agenda.

The ceremony will be held at the Midland Hotel, Manchester on May 14th 2015. Nominations are now open to the general public and someone has nominated you!

Please read carefully through the attached nominee guide, which will provide you with all the relevant information you will need to know as a nominee for The Excellence in Diversity Awards 2015.

If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to get in touch. All other details can be found on our website http://www.excellenceindiversity.co.uk

Best wishes and Good Luck!

The Excellence in Diversity Awards

@EiDAwards

http://www.facebook.com/ExcellenceinDiversityAwards

THANK YOU, WHOEVER YOU ARE. I AM GRATEFUL ANS HUMBLED TO BE ACKNOWLEDGED AND VALIDATED IN THIS WAY.

20140508-153720.jpg

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

