My day at Work


20140501-165053.jpg

 

A GIVE ‘EM HOPE STORY….YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE AND I THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS WITH US:

My day at Work

Today like any other day, I went to work with my regular work mates who I also consider my really close friends. We always discuss my homosexuality and people who are homophobic, they always give me support knowing that I’m a lesbian. I also live in a country that does not condone homosexuality. So I live a secret lifestyle and only close friends and family members knows that I’m a lesbian. But today while we were discussing me and my life, my friend turns to me and says, Lenore are you sure that you want to live like this? I got really defensive and told him yes, and it’s my choice to live my way, and it makes me happy. He told me that living my life may be easy now but in the future i will regret it. I felt it was a necessity to ask him why. so I said why do say this I always thought that I had your support. He answered and said yes I have his support but he thinks that it’s time for me to make a change. I asked what change should I make? He then answered me saying try to be NORMAL. I was in total shock. So I told him when you say normal you really mean that I should try being straight, he replied saying yes. So I told him well you should try being gay, and only then you will understand what I’m going through. some other harsh words were exchanged but by the end of the day he understood and apologized for being rude to me. The reason why I’m sharing this is because I felt the need to. It’s not an inspiring story but it was the first time this happened to me. Although I may live in a society where being a lesbian or gay is not accepted. I think I mentioned this before This group gives me hope, this group has changed my way of thinking. I’m not scared anymore of what people think of me, I also promise myself that I will make an effort to come out and not stay hiding. Because of the members of this group and the admins I am proud to be who I am.

 

 

HELLO LOVELY PEOPLE! How are you today? Keep sharing and supporting. Respect to you for being here. Still time to vote for us in the National Diversity Awards https://nominate.nationaldiversityawards.co.uk/nominate/endorse/12593

 

 

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

