MAYBE I WAS APPRECIATED…BY SOME


20140714-175423-64463945.jpg

 

Today, I remind myself to look back with positivity and gratitude. Hard as that can be, and believe me, I know, just as you do. In order to transition to a new chapter in life, I am convinced that holding on to negativity is too destructive; not to those who were energy vampires but to yourself….so let’s learn to soak up the praise, the gratitude and bin the jealousy, the bitterness and the spiteful behaviour of those who couldn’t appreciate us.

 

20140501-070918.jpg

 

WELL THAT’S A NICE EMAIL FROM THE PRINCIPAL:

Hi David,

I had heard you were leaving and really sorry to hear that. You’ve been absolutely superb as not only a Music Lecturing colleague, but also somebody who has been transformational in the way in which our colleagues at both college campuses think about Diversity and Equality.

Realising that you travel every day from London, it’s small wonder that you would naturally be looking at something closer to home and I completely understand that. Nevertheless, you will be a loss to the College, and particularly because of the way in which you have enriched the life of the College in so many ways above and beyond “the job”.

I’d like to wish you the very best for the future and of course, if you need any reference, please don’t hesitate.

Thanks very much indeed for your incredibly generous comments regarding my role. I do feel completely privileged to have the job that I have and as with everything I do, if I decide I’m going to do it, I want to put 100% effort into every aspect of it, as, I know you do! Many thanks for noticing it though!

All the very best wishes for the future

Kindest regards

____________

 

AND THE VICE PRINCIPAL, WHO ALWAYS HAD MY BACK AGAINST THE OPPOSITION…

Well David, its been – as we used to say – a gas…I have really enjoyed getting to now you and work with you and have enormous respect for the passion and energy that you brought to your role.

Bon chance et bon courage (don’t know why I’m speaking French to a Scotsman!)

 

AND THE QUALITY MANAGER

You really did make a difference and as I probably clumsily said on your penultimate day- we wouldn’t have got the Respect campaign going and people having E&D closer to hearts/minds or wherever…without you. I learnt a lot too and loved sharing your enthusiasm

Please keep in touch

All the best for future and enjoy your new and upcoming musicians.

 

AND ONE OF OUR VERY SPECIAL TUTORS IN HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE:

Dear David,

I just wanted to give you some feedback about a recent group tutorial I had with my Health & Social Care Level 2 Learners.

I used the resources you have put together on Moodle about “The effect of Stereotyping”. There are 20 learners in this group, so we had a very lively discussion and debate!!

After our tutorial ended, 4 of the learners stayed on and decided to “test out” the effect of stereotyping on young people.

In their own time they put together a plan of action which involved going into town and selling cakes for charity (wanting to raise money for others less fortunate as well as doing their experiment!!) but one group having piercings, tattoos and coloured hair and the other not. They wanted to see if the way people looked, even when doing a “Good deed” made a difference.

They haven`t ventured into town yet, but I will let you know how they get on!!

They did this all independently, in their own time, having been inspired by “The Respect Campaign!!” I was blown away by the impact a 45 minute tutorial had on this group.

Thank you very much for putting these resources together, it really is having an influence on the learners.

Have a lovely weekend,

Kind Regards,

Rachel.

AND LASTLY, THE HR MANAGER:

David

Many congratulations on your new appointment – how exciting for you! We’ll be sorry to see you go but I can understand your reasons for wanting to progress and to work closer to home.

Thank you very much for all you have done at and for the College. Certainly working with Lynn the two of you have had a massive impact on equality and diversity issues at the College and the Respect campaign was an astounding piece of work and a great success.

Wishing you all the very best for the future.

Regards

Stewart

 

20140501-165023.jpg

 

There were times when I felt that my equality role was futile and there were times when I saw an impact. I am eternally grateful to colleagues who recognised the value in embracing and celebrating diversity. I can only hope that this will continue to grow.

 

To those who were on-board from the start and to those who got there when I banged my drum loud enough:

 

Working at Andover and Sparsholt has been … What is the word I’m searching for? Well, it’s been memorable. Let’s put it that way.

The most rewarding aspect of the last 3 years, besides the amazing students, has been the way in which you have inspired me by your commitment to doing more than your job requires;you have always gone beyond what is expected and have made sure that you nurture each individual and that is why I will be sad to leave.

Who’d have thought it? I may have been a grumpy old man sometimes but that’s because of my passion for what I do and my unrealistic expectation that everyone should feel the same.

I hope that I’ve made some small difference to how the college community view the importance of celebrating diversity and that, in your hands, this will continue to flourish.

Thank you for making my time at the college so much richer.

Respect to you for all that you do.

David

 

20140411-181127.jpg

 

At This Party – Hafiz

“I don’t want to be the only one here

Telling all the secrets –

Filling up all the bowls at this party,

Taking all the laughs.

I would like you

To start putting things on the table

That can also feed the soul

The way I do.

That way

We can invite

A hell of a lot more

Friends.”

 

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

