HOPE MAY BE ALL WE HAVE BUT HOPE IS ALL THAT WE NEED


IMG_3903.JPG

Since starting my new job, I’ve noticed a remarkable shift in my mood and in my attitude to life in general.

Is it a direct result of the job, the shorter commute or something else? Is it rather the shift in my perception, possibly prompted by the change in circumstances?

Whatever it is, I have, again, found myself more able to easily connect positively with people; I’m open to new challenges and find myself thriving in what is a challenging but supportive environment; I find myself more adaptable and spontaneous, confident and compassionate.

This has brought many rewards and the past week has been remarkable – let me count my blessings:

660+ smiles from engaged and positively participating pupils. Unguarded compliments; “best teacher ever!” I’m not boasting but when a teenager says that, it is pretty mind-blowing!

Kindness and support from colleagues (who knew that such a place existed? I’d heard the rumour but it’s actually possible to feel respected and valued in the workplace)

New friendships with self-aware and authentic people who candidly connect on levels that are overwhelming

National Diversity Awards in 2 weeks time and although I can hardly contain my excitement; our family have already won, because we live and breathe; grow, thrive and continue to strive in our mission to challenge limiting perceptions. I’ve never known such kindness and compassion on such a scale and this gives me such hope and daily inspiration.

Kate Bush will be singing for me personally (as I sit in the middle seat, 3rd row) and perhaps a few thousand others, on the 27th.

Friends and family who understand me and appreciate, value and support me.

Russell, my baby boy (who should be top of this list), for showing such waggy-tailed love at every opportunity.

And lastly, for now, the amazing response I’ve had from numerous strangers who have reciprocated when I’ve smiled or shared a kind word.

Sometimes it takes one small but significant shift to uplift the spirit. This then causes a waterfall of positivity to cascade down upon the still waters, turning stagnant pessimistic thoughts into overwhelming optimism and the ripples can become waves which wash away hopelessness; bringing new hope, clear vision and the focussed energy to move toward the next challenge.

Stay hopeful! I Lost sight of mine, whilst continuing to support everyone else. That’s often what we do. Please be sure to look after you and I’ll do the same too.

Whatever you may be feeling right now, You are not alone; help is here; hope is here and life can always get better.

IMG_3900.JPG

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

