21 DAY CHALLENGE – DAY TEN


  
  

  

Acknowledge and write down 3 reasons to be grateful

I’m not sure why but I’ve struggled today with this. It’s not been a bad day at all. In many respects, it’s been a very good day. So what am I grateful for? As I consider what to write,

I’m wondering if the following will count…

1. I’m grateful to have experienced a diverse range of teaching environments and, crazy but true, I am especially grateful for the ones which were most challenging in terms of behavioural issues. Why? Having experienced aggression, rudeness and disruptive students, I have developed as a teacher and have found a better, gentler, approach to nurturing and supporting all my learners. When faced with a resistant class today, one who were “testing the WATTERS”, I was able to reason with and coax the most resistant into participating in a much more positive manner than they had intended. Not all, but let’s face it I’m not the Dalai Lama. It was an exhausting hour but I’m hopeful that with each small, seemingly insignificant interaction, with praise and gentle (ok firm) persuasion, I’ll win the whole group over. I’m thankful to be given this challenge and look forward to changing the mindset of more, most, if not all. BRING IT ON! My joy will overcome any negativity that comes my way.

2. I am constantly amazed that I can have an idea, a vision, a small seed of inspiration and that others can see the value and potential. I only do what I do because I can’t sit back and complain and do nothing. The Give ’em Hope Campaign, for example, still seems to me a quiet and subtle voice for social equality. Nothing grand, but somehow it has been recognised and acknowledged as something more significant. That’s not because of me at all. The campaign is bigger than any one person and the numerous people across the world who have participated by making video or written testimonies and those who visit and contribute to our online forums every single day are the ones who have nourished a small but seemingly worthwhile idea. For those who have believed in my ideas and who have helped make them lasting and real, I am forever thankful.

3. The simple and often overlooked aspects of life;  enough food to eat, a small but homely flat, and love in my life. That’s 3 all in one…But who’s counting?


 

 WILL YOU JOIN ME IN THE 21 DAY CHALLENGE?

On the surface I seem fine but I am just like you, dealing with the challenges that come my way. 

Life can be one struggle after another and you can begin to wonder why you bother. 

Do you ever feel that you invest too much time and energy in people and activities  where your efforts are unrecognised and, perhaps worse, taken for granted?

I don’t seek praise or validation but I do need to learn where best to focus my efforts.

In a bid to maximise my time and bring more positivity, I have been searching for inspiration online.

TED talks are consistently life affirming and there’s nothing better than pouring a glass of wine and settling down to catch a few of these talks on Netflix or YouTube. 

One of the talks recently was about changing your perspective and refocusing by finding and acknowledging the positives, whilst letting go and not dwelling on the negatives. 

So, in a bid to reprogram my mind, I will take the 21 Day Challenge. Apparantly, after 21 Days, this thinking will become automatic.

This is not to say that I’m a negative person, far from it, but I am like anyone else; when faced with a solid, constant barrage of challenges, I get exhausted and feel my motivation begin to drop.

So, here is what I will do:

Acknowledge and write down 3 reasons to be grateful – 21 Days

1 email or message of gratitude – 21Days

In addition, I will continue to watch TED Talks, spend time with people who Uplift me, focus on what is needed to move forward by assessing what it is I really need and prioritise positive thought over negative contemplation. 

The great thing about this initiative is that even before writing down my first reason to be grateful, I am buzzing as I mentally begin to consider all the many wonderful people in my life. 

Damn it, I have so much to be grateful for! 

 WILL YOU JOIN ME?

HERE’S THE FACEBOOK PAGE:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1576141909326127/

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

