21 DAY CHALLENGE – DAY TWELVE


 
Acknowledge and write down 3 reasons to be grateful

1. Grateful to be alive. It was only Tuesday but for some reason I was exhausted. Smelly and exhausted and in great need of a bath. Had dinner and decided to have a quick soak. 90 minutes later, I woke up frozen and wrinkled beyond recognition! Just call me YODA. Alive, I am. To be alive, I am grateful.
2. Tiny but noticeable breakthrough with some cautious, wary students. “I’m in a good mood today”, said one, and he produced some good work. Another, I spoke to about lack of focus, aggression and distracting others and suggested that she was perhaps bored because the work appeared too easy. I set her a challenge and she went above and beyond to produce something exceptional. What a turnaround! Very impressive and I’m grateful for the lessons that I learn from students and for the reminders that I’m given about how to always remain flexible, creative and to tailor each lesson, as far as is possible (and that’s quite far), to each individual. 
3. Having my own remote for the projectors at work. This may not seem like a big deal but I move from class to class and have had to beg and borrow from others until today! I rely so much on technology, but that’s one thing that really does help with differentiated teaching and learning. Even to play a piece of music as the students enter, to create a relaxed or energised mood, or to have the objectives visible  so that focus is maintained, requires the screen and a working projector. I’m a man of simple needs and today one of those needs was met! I am overjoyed.
WILL YOU JOIN ME IN THE 21 DAY CHALLENGE?
On the surface I seem fine but I am just like you, dealing with the challenges that come my way. 
Life can be one struggle after another and you can begin to wonder why you bother. 
Do you ever feel that you invest too much time and energy in people and activities  where your efforts are unrecognised and, perhaps worse, taken for granted?
I don’t seek praise or validation but I do need to learn where best to focus my efforts.
In a bid to maximise my time and bring more positivity, I have been searching for inspiration online.
TED talks are consistently life affirming and there’s nothing better than pouring a glass of wine and settling down to catch a few of these talks on Netflix or YouTube. 
One of the talks recently was about changing your perspective and refocusing by finding and acknowledging the positives, whilst letting go and not dwelling on the negatives. 
So, in a bid to reprogram my mind, I will take the 21 Day Challenge. Apparantly, after 21 Days, this thinking will become automatic.

This is not to say that I’m a negative person, far from it, but I am like anyone else; when faced with a solid, constant barrage of challenges, I get exhausted and feel my motivation begin to drop.
So, here is what I will do:
Acknowledge and write down 3 reasons to be grateful – 21 Days
1 email or message of gratitude – 21Days

In addition, I will continue to watch TED Talks, spend time with people who Uplift me, focus on what is needed to move forward by assessing what it is I really need and prioritise positive thought over negative contemplation. 
The great thing about this initiative is that even before writing down my first reason to be grateful, I am buzzing as I mentally begin to consider all the many wonderful people in my life. 
Damn it, I have so much to be grateful for! 
 WILL YOU JOIN ME?
HERE’S THE FACEBOOK PAGE:
https://www.facebook.com/events/1576141909326127/

   

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

