SCHOOL BULLY – REALLY? 


 
I’m not writing this to whinge or complain but to point out that I have been reminded that I should be grateful for everything that comes my way; even the mean people who set out to spoil my day.
On the whole, I’ve had an okay day. There are a couple of colleagues who can be quite unpleasant and, unfortunately, I had to say something today. 

Some people mistake my friendly demeanour for me being a doormat. My willingness to accommodate and take lessons or move rooms at short notice is being abused and today I was told I should get my class to tidy the department, as if it could only be my students who created mess – doesn’t she know I am OCD? The department was a giant dustbin when I arrived and I’ve done nothing to add to that chaos. 

I politely challenged this one woman who has had an “issue” with me since day one. Here we are again, another insecure person feeling threatened by me just getting on and doing my job. That’s all I can think it must be. 

I have made every effort to be enthusiastic, friendly and supportive of her, personally and professionally, but that appears to have made her up her game from subtle to blatant bully.

Why do such petty people have to try and spoil your day?!

  
I mean, no matter what’s going on in your personal life, this is a place of work and you’d be better off turning your frown upside down when someone offers you nothing but kindness and joy.

I am thankful to people like this for showing me that their drama or “issue” is not about me and should not have an impact upon how I go about my day. 

Don’t get me wrong, it is tedious but I am reminded to practice compassion or politely respond then walk away – either way, the negativity slides off and I’m able to get on with my day.

If something or someone is not bringing peace into your life, you must always know that there is always a choice.  
 
 

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

