SWANS DON’T COUNT THEIR CHICKENS


 
My interview today was only confirmed at 6pm yesterday. 

This meant that there was a lot to be done – but I work well under pressure!

Quick bit of research done whilst running my bath…Lesson Plan done; resources created…

All was going well but then…

…laptop refused to open PowerPoint and also refused to open the internet browser…couldnt send my files to myself, which was my creative backup plan…

Printer then chewed up and swallowed half my Scheme of Work and half a Lesson Plan…technology is not my friend. 
To quote the renowned philosopher, Doris Day, “Que Sera, Sera”. 
  
Remaining calm under pressure is my biggest challenge but I shall always aim to be a swan, paddling furiously whilst gliding seemingly effortlessly. Deep breaths…

Read on…there’s a lesson to be learned from this story…

  
UPDATE:

So the interview went well.
I was to be there at 745am…nice and early, but I’m used to that; when working in Andover, I would leave home at 5am…

Arrived early. Took advantage of the civilised and free coffee. Met with key staff. Was given a tour of the school. Set up and taught a lesson. Very brief. Too short to get stuck in but enough to do a few relevant activities and engage with the extremely polite and smart students.

Interview with key staff and I’m pleased to say that I’ve been offered the job! 

Yes, I’m surprised too but only because of the completely random and senseless experiences that I’ve had lately. I won’t bore you with the details but I’ve had my fair share of struggles during my year of job-hunting.

Of course I won’t count my chickens but I did speak to the head teacher tonight and she has agreed salary and conditions and says she’s really pleased to have me.  I’m told that they liked my positive attitude! What have I been saying about ATTITUDE being EVERYTHING? 

I’ll wait till I have it in writing before I celebrate but thought it worth sharing that much as I feel that I must resist being myself at interviews, for fear of blurting out inappropriate comments or for appearing “too relaxed”, I was made to feel comfortable and, although the morning was entirely professional, there was a sense of mutual humour between the staff and myself.  This made for a pleasant and unintimidating experience.
Of course, I never trust that I’ve read signals correctly and I couldn’t be sure that I’d be offered the job but I do know that I did a good lesson and answered the interview questions with candour and ease. 

The main concern that many schools have is that I am applying to teach and not to run a department. Why would I want to do that? Isn’t that a step back? 

My response to these concerns is that I am at a stage in my life where I know that I thrive in the classroom and that I am more than happy to be managed by a colleague who has passion for the subject and ambition for the department. 

I’m not ego driven and prefer to focus on doing what brings job satisfaction whilst supporting a colleague to realise his or her goals in developing the best possible department. 

The job is much closer to home and the school has been graded as OUTSTANDING by Ofsted. Behaviour is good and, from what I see, facilities are great. 

The moral of this blog is that i may have been rejected by others for being myself but I refuse and I’m frankly incapable of being anything other than myself. 

Whether in a professional or personal context, it is worth remembering that it is better to be disliked for who you truly are than to be liked for something that you are not. 

Of course, it’s better to be liked for being your authentic self and that’s a whole lot better than being a pale imitation of someone else. 

Don’t try to second guess or try to be what you think people want you to be. You are good enough and those who are worthy of your time will recognise that. 

IMHO:

We are all unique and sharing this is our gift to the world. Those who can’t handle you are not deserving of you. 
You will find your place and those who are meant to be in your life will find you and appreciate you for the uniquely wonderful person that you are.

  

A VOTE FOR ME IS A VOTE FOR YOU

https://neverblendin.wordpress.com/2015/03/30/a-vote-for-me-is-a-vote-for-you/

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

