The Give ’em Hope Campaign: Karen Adell Scot – There is HOPE


 
 Karen Adell Scot and I recently connected online because I’d often read her candid and life-affirming posts in a facebook group and I was sure that she had a great deal more to contribute to the Give ’em Hope Campaign. 

One thing we could all strive for is to live with absolute authenticity and in doing so we can shine a light for others who struggle with self-acceptance.  Sharing our stories can change lives and perhaps even save lives. 
  
This is what Karen generously shared today and the comments that she received in response reaffirm what Karen told me, “It is important. Lives are at stake.”
  
One year ago I was laying in a surgery prep room waiting for an orderly to take me to Dr. Marci Bowers in to the operating room for GCS. I filmed all of my prep for future use. When I was rolled into the operating room and saw the stirrups where my feet would go I knew that I was going to be, for me, made finally complete. I teared up to see those stirrups. Marci was sweet and encouraging. I went through GCS with Marci in about 4 hours and then Dr. Joel Beck began FFS to correct some facial testosterone influenced bone structure. When I awoke in my room I again pulled out the camera and filmed for posterity. 
My first feeling when I awoke was one of total, amazing relief… I was finally right, correct and authentic for me. I remembered back to when I was tiny and laying in my bed trying to tuck my plumbing away to become who I finally was. 

Even with facial swelling, I cried tears of pure joy and told the little girl inside me that she finally made it. She finally was done. It was such an amazing day. I become emotional even writing this.

Recently here in California one brave young transgender woman fought and fought Anthem Blue Cross to demand her FFS be covered by her insurance.

SHE WON!

Her amazing efforts and months long fight was finally won and she made precedent for the rest of us. Blue Cross agreed that she should have FFS covered by insurance. It is the start of bigger changes for all of us, should you want FFS someday. There is hope for a blanket acceptance by insurance that testosterone damaged bone structure for a transgender woman is the same as being in a car collision and having facial damage that needs repair. 

So, as I celebrate my completion year anniversary, there is hope for so many more of us to have this procedure covered by our insurance in the future. Yippeeee!!!

 
 

Would you like to make a video or offer a written testimony?

What we do & why we do it: http://t.co/3WmrIuaGkR  
CONTACT INFORMATION
EMAIL: DavidWatters@nbiassociates.co.uk

SKYPE: never.blend.in

WEBSITE: www.nbiassociates.co.uk

BOOK WEBPAGE: http://www.nbiassociates.co.uk/Never-Blend-In.html
GIVE ‘EM HOPE CAMPAIGN: http://www.nbiassociates.co.uk/Give–em-Hope-Campaign.html

#StrongerTogether

#PrideIsPolitical 

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

