BREADLINE BRITAIN: Looking on the Bright Side


  

The great thing about being temporarily dole scum is that I realised my prescriptions would be free. 

My new school is like Fort Knox and sneaking out for a cigarette would be close to impossible so, besides the cost and being skint for the summer and the health implications of smoking, I’ve decided to quit. It’s also not cool to smell of smoke or have brown stained teeth. 
Tried to see a doctor and was told I had to go and see the people at Charlton Athletic who would monitor me at weekly meetings. I tried them before and it wasn’t the right thing for me; I’m not good at being pressured, or as they call it, “supported”, so I still made a doctors appointment. 
Then clever Richard, who hasn’t smoked now for 15 months, suggested that I go to the Pharmacist and ask there about Champix. 
The lovely smiley and helpful chemist was happy to oblige and I’ve a feeling he took my number, not because he had to but because he may start making inappropriate personal calls! 

  
So I’ve got my Champix and I already had some NiQuitin lozenges, so here goes…Monday is my quit day. 

  
As I type this, I’m sucking on a Sterling Superking, which Richard pointed out, to the well-endowed lady in Tescos, were called Superkings because they had big tips. Oh how we all chuckled. 
I may suck on a lozenge as I resist downloading the complete Kath & Kim from iTunes – I challenge you to tell me something more fun to do in bed.

  
Anyone else quitting smoking? I may set this as my new 21 Day Challenge.

  
Next step is to get my teeth sorted whilst part of Benefits Britain. I might even get my eyes tested too. What else can I get free? 

  

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

