BELIEVING IS SEEING – JIM LINGER – GIVE ‘EM HOPE CAMPAIGN 


  
When I read this, I understood exactly what Jim was saying. We share the same dream, you see, and I also know that we can all achieve our goals, with or without family support. We should all dare to dream and persevere, day after day, year after year. So long as we keep trying, we haven’t failed. We can always find a way.

Below Jim’s testimony, I have reposted my memories of San Francisco, or as I like to call it, San FranFuckingCisco! 

  
You may wonder why I feel so happy and content with making it here in my dream city of San Francisco. 
Here’s why. 

I was born into a poor family who gave me up for adoption, and that I’ve never met, in the backwoods of rural West Virginia. 

My adoptive family was extremely dysfunctional and disowned me. They were mostly extremely religious and ultra conservative. I never knew my grandfather’s, who both died in war. 

My father was abusive in every way. 

My grandmother never drove …or worked, and only had a third grade education. My mother was horrific, even terrifying. She also never had much education. 

I always told myself that I wanted more. Accomplish more. See more. Do more. 

When I was a kid I looked through encyclopedias to learn where people like me can live safely, and where people gathered in large numbers who were caring, and creative, and accepting. I learned that meant liberal, and that San Francisco was a liberal mecca, on the other side of the country. And I made a goal to one day make it my home. 

It took me four decades, but I did it. 

  
Enlisting in the military was my way out of that scary childhood environment. I’m grateful to have traveled to almost every state, and got an education. I’ve been able, even lucky, to work with, and befriend, so may amazing people, even politicians and celebrities. 

I didn’t have the upbringing and family support, but what I did have was compassion, and dreams, and a lot of will power. So making it in my dream city is so fulfilling. I still have dreams, but this was, by far, my biggest one. And I made it come true. I hope your dreams do too.
  

  

Saying YES is so vital – DAVID E WATTERS



I had a rough time a few years ago and decided to take an extended trip to San Francisco. Well, it was almost decided for me…

  
I gave away many of my possessions, keeping only clothes and things with sentimental value. 

I had no real plan but something inside me was pushing me forward. 

I arrived with only the promise of perhaps a weeks accommodation with a friend of a friend and no work to speak of. 

  
I was expecting money from various sources; owed wages, rent deposit and something else that I can’t now recall. None of the money arrived in my account and I could have been homeless and hungry if it weren’t for the generosity of Stevie (Stephen), Elise and Lisa.

Stevie passed on a singing student of his and all 3 housemates treated me like family; the weird distant Scottish relative. 

Believe me, I was weird. I knew that my head was all over the place and that I wasn’t quite my usual self so I disclosed a little of the months that had led me to this point.

Honesty breeds compassion and that’s one lesson I’ll never forget.

The prospect of leaving Britain was terrifying and exhilarating in equal measure but the flight to San Francisco gave me ample opportunity to reflect and decide on a plan of attack. Say YES, say YES, SAY YES, was all that rang out in my mind. 

I tried to get work but this was in the days when the internet was pretty new or at least new to me. I didn’t have a Green Card either and my return flight was 3 months from when I’d arrived. 

  
All sounds a bit gloomy but, forced to rely on the kindness of strangers, i survived and thrived. They never once made me feel guilty and I am forever in their debt.

Before leaving for San Francisco, I had just come to the end of a miserable relationship, I had been working in a non-music job (processing credit card applications) and teaching at weekends, I never saw the rundown home that I rented and which cost almost all of my monthly income. It was all feeling pretty pointless; I was working to scrape by and had no life to speak of. 

At my lowest point, I won a flight to America. It was strange and unexpected because I hadn’t any memory of entering a competition.

After checking that I really had won this prize, I began to wonder if the universe was perhaps giving me the nudge that I needed to move on and make a fresh start. 

Between booking the flight and leaving for America, I had a homeless and jobless month in Scotland. It was then that my oldest and dearest friend took both her own life and that of her two children. I don’t share this story easily but it is important that you understand how desperately painful life had become. 

So I had no job, no home, no relationship and now my friend had made a decision that was to change so many of us forever.

I was a wreck. I was a complete mess; trying as best I could to accept recent events and to be philosophical and find the lesson that I was supposed to be learning.

I rationalised and justified my friend’s suicide and I swam just above the waves of grief; enough to keep going.  

  
Either Lisa or Elise told me about Craigslist and I put out my CV. Within days, I had an audition for a new musical. 

I auditioned in the composers car. Parked up outside Starbucks, I serenaded Louise with “I’ve Got a Crush on You” and I guess that this does rate pretty highly in my strangest ever auditions.

Rehearsing for the show I met incredible people who sang elsewhere and other opportunities arose.

I was fortunate to be offered the opportunity to sing at the Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption, where the soloists were more Broadway than Benedictine.

http://www.stmarycathedralsf.org/

Stevie and I started a cabaret duo – we could have been stars, I tell ya!

Elise took me dancing and the Swedish Cultural Center and I sweated (a lot), then a bar where smoking was still allowed. She introduced me to the life-changing Glide Memorial Church and the Glide Ensemble. I surrendered to the enthusiasm and energy of this loving and diverse congregation, led by Pastor Cecil Williams. 

  
Here’s a little glimpse of the Glide Ensemble as they bring joy through their music: http://youtu.be/MLgk3glxMjo

On my first visit, there was a baptism where the African-American parents and the Chinese-American God-Parents stood before the diverse congregation to celebrate the new life in their family. 

  
Elise also introduced me to the Harvey Milk Center and Stevie and I performed there. Hideous Gomphidius could have gone places!

  
During rehearsals for “Over the Bridge” by Louise Canepa, I was mothered by the ladies in the cast, and by Louise herself. I’m eternally grateful to them all. I’d often leave rehearsals with arms loaded up with trays of food. They understood my situation and gave so generously that I felt cared for and both physically and spiritually nourished. 

Others invited me over to share evenings in apartments that convinced me that I had become an ARMISTEAD MAUPIN character and that I’d be meeting Mrs Madrigal and Mouse at any moment.

I met such creative people, such open and energised souls who, no matter their own struggles, could find time to create and relate.

I met Elvis Presley’s cousin, or so I was led to believe. I met a wonderful and talented photographer, Jose, Jose Serna, who generously took some head shots for me. 

And I met the gorgeously charming and fascinating Melton, whose only fault was that he couldn’t marry me! Not everyone can be a homo, I suppose.

The three months spent in San Francisco were a blessing, a gift from the universe which helped me in some way to heal. I found kindness, generosity, a renewed faith in the goodness that can be found when one looks and truly sees. Wearing the right metaphorical glasses brightened my vision and reinvigorated my hope. I found so many things that I’d lost and I found myself again; a little fragile and battered but a the gentle Bay breeze breathed life to my weak flickering flame. 

How strange that, so many years later, I found inspiration in Harvey Milk, his message and his conviction that the collective voice of all “minorities” can crush the oppressive so-called majority. 

We are stronger together. We just need to say YES. Take a chance and trust that the universe will reward our courage.

Let’s face it, the alternative is too hideous to contemplate. 

  
   

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

