OMAR ALVARADO – WAIT, NOT SO FAST! – THE GIVE ‘EM HOPE CAMPAIGN


  
Dear friends whom eat at fast foods:
I’m not here to bring criticism regarding fast food, but to ask you for a favor. As fancy as those new self checking out machines might look, please do not use them. Waiting in line for a few minutes will not make you faint of famine. Why my request? As more as you use them, the opportunity for someone to be hired as a cashier will decreased.

  
Since I don’t do fast food restaurants, when I go to Harris Teeters (grocery store) I refused to go to the self checkout even when I rather don’t want human interaction. You know how annoying the self checkouts are when telling you “Please remove the item and scan it again, etc…”

  
One employee, at HT, recently noticed I was waiting in line with 4 items. She walked to me from the Customer Service desk and grab my basket and said “hello”, followed by telling me the self checkouts were opened. I told her “thanks, I do not mind waiting.” She grabbed my basket and scanned the items herself. I thanked her, and she asked me why I always wait in line even when I get few items (she recognized me as a regular customer, and she is very friendly). My reply? “Rather I see humans at the store, you guys always smile”. She smiled at me in a way of “You sound crazy, but I internally agreed”.

  
Same thing happens at the CVS Pharmacies, many self checkouts, which by the way, are always messed up, and one employee standing telling customers to use them. I simply request to have the employee to scan my products. Not as been lazy, as I bag all my stuff, but in a way to protest the corporations for reducing the workers.

  
Again, this is a friendly request. As I was looking for a McDonald’s self checkout photo, just found out other fast foods are also doing the same thing. That’s kind of crazy. And if you are about to type a funny comment about the minimum wage been raised, please don’t bother. Any person should earn a decent salary no matter what they do.
Thanks in advance.

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

