WHAT A LOAD OF #TOSHiba


  
Leading Innovation in making money from faulty products.

Since purchasing my Toshiba laptop from Very, I have experienced problems with the charger. It took a number of days to fully charge the laptop battery and the connection has always been loose. The connection sits at an angle and doesn’t sit securely. The laptop did eventually charge but can’t be unplugged for very long without draining.
The laptop was left on charge last night but the battery is completely dead. I can’t even turn the laptop on with the cable attached; it shows empty battery and switches off.
I contacted the seller, Very, who told me to contact Toshiba. Toshiba told me that I would have to send them my laptop and that there would be a charge. Listen to this, if found to be a manufacturers fault, I wouldn’t be charged but if it were deemed to be my fault, I would be given 2 options – pay the repair cost or pay £64 to have MY still faulty laptop returned!

  

What kind of scam is this? The fault is really a loose connection on the adaptor as far as I can see. I can also anticipate that Toshiba would say that I caused this as the attachment to the laptop is bent.

  
So they sell me a broken item and charge me to fix it or charge me to not fix it and have it returned broken.
I’ve been asked to send pictures to them because I asked if I could just buy a new charger (surely quicker and cheaper than sending my whole laptop to them)

   
 
Let’s see what they say. 
This, as far as I’m concerned is a massive scam and I won’t be buying from Toshiba again.

Two friends have pointed out the following:

Consumer law states that you only need deal with the retailer as your contract is with them.

If it’s faulty you should seek a refund from Very.
Thanks especially to Chris for the following links:

Consumer Rights – Give Me My Money Back! http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/shopping/consumer-rights-refunds-exchange

And finding the email for the CEO you need:

http://ceoemail.com/

A very interesting discussion thread about this very problem on a Toshiba Forum: 

http://forums.toshiba.com/t5/Satellite-Pro-Laptops/Battery-Plugged-in-Not-Charging/td-p/291593
  

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

