GIVE ‘EM HOPE CAMPAIGN – DC VICKERS


DC VICKERS

I just wanted to say that for anyone out there that is transgendered and in a state of confusion and worried about it… please try not to be. I’ve been trans* for the last 40 years and a few years ago, came out as such.

The result… not much really! I too had built up an image in my head of what would happen – I’d be beaten up, shouted at and abused, shunned by friends and maybe lose my job. I was so confused that I could barely function at work as the thoughts around gender dysphoria ran around my head. I saw the doctor, psychiatrists and psychologists, went to the Gender Identity Clinic but it didn’t really help me all that much.

One pyschologist told me I should go and buy a nice new shirt to make me feel better!

In the end, I came out at work first of all… then spent the next 2 hours answering all the email responses wishing me well, and people telling me of their own issues. It was amazingly positive for me.

I work in forestry – a typically male-dominated environment – and have not had any issues at all. The last few years appears to have seen a seismic shift in how trans* people are viewed.

Campaigns like Give ‘Em Hope really do help, and you should know that there’s a huge community to help you if you need it – speak to someone if you are that confused and worried, You might just find it’s the best thing you ever did smile emoticon

GIVE 'EM HOPE LOGO

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

