I’m not one to complain but…


  
You know me, I’m not one to complain (SHUT IT!) but I came into WOOLWICH to get some dark fitted jeans to wear with my military jacket for Thursday’s gig and having successfully purchased those and a rather cool T-Shirt, for a bargain price, I decided to reward myself with a beer; well it is after midday. 
Anyway, long story short, I arrived at the Dial Arch, which was empty and calm with every table but one mine for the taking, and having purchased my pint of Hell’s I came outside to see 2 young mothers with their 7, YES SEVEN, children. 
I’m hoping that they are perhaps childminders or else they’ve been producing babies since puberty and probably need to stop soon before a school has to be built just to educate their offspring. 
As I said, I hate to complain but they are all sitting eating their lunches from Tupperware boxes and not a single purchase has been made.
The kids are relatively well-behaved but that’s not the point. This pub is near the river with plenty grassy places or places with benches to sit on and enjoy a packed lunch so why is it ok for them to sit there, directly beside me, bearing in mind that there are at least 20 other tables in the vicinity?
I’d never dare to sit and eat my own food without even buying a drink from the bar I’m sitting at but somehow yummy mummies feel they have an automatic right to do what they like. 
Spoke too soon, kids are running round screaming.
Finlay, leave it, leave it, you can’t eat it now.
Bailey get down please.
I haven’t eaten my chocolate.
I haven’t eaten lunch.
Ava, come round here.
Let’s go on an adventure.
Yes, go, do go on an adventure but take your rubbish with you.
Bailey, put that down, that’s dirty. Bailey! BAILEY! 
God, I need a drink.

  

On the same topic, please enjoy Garfunkel and Oates’ song Pregnant Women are Smug http://youtu.be/LbTB3ASkdOo 

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

