NEVER BLEND IN – Lose the Label if it’s Limiting YOU – Part One of a Series by D. C Vickers


NEVER BLEND IN LOGO

It is with immense joy and gratitude that I will be bringing you a monthly blog from a previous colleague, a firm friend and a valued Give ’em Hope Campaign family member, Danielle.

Danielle and I met when I was teaching in Hampshire. I’d cheekily put out an all-staff email to ask for votes for some diversity award or other and although I was reprimanded by senior management for doing so, it was more than worth it because, in response to my email, I received a candid and courageous testimony from Danielle.

As soon as we could, we met for coffee and I knew then that we’d be friends.

Danielle is a talented photographer and filmmaker and at that time I was working with our college choir on two songs for The Give ’em Hope Campaign – Danielle was immediately interested in filming for us and here we are today, ready to hear Part One of what I know will be an uplifting and encouraging series of articles in which Danielle shines her light so that you too may learn to shine a little brighter. 

Never Blend In is all about not using labels to define others, but I am going to use one to help you understand where I’m coming from… I’m transgendered. Although that could be a label applied to me, I don’t want it defining me; it’s just one word that could describe me along with hard-working, cyclist, swimmer, business owner, 46 years old and so on.

Of course, we use labels to group similar objects together and this is at the heart of what is wrong with using labels to define fellow human beings… personally, I don’t class myself as an ‘object’ to be categorised, and secondly, placing me in a group means I can be segregated. It’s a means that can place me outside of a group that I want to be a part of… namely “normal society”. We could argue for ages about what that might, or might not, mean but in our heteronormative world it could be generally taken to mean that there are only two sexes with representative genders. That’s “normal” right? There are boys and girls; boys like girls, and girls like boys? What a truly awful way to view society! Taking on such a viewpoint immediately puts anyone that doesn’t neatly fall into that category of “normal society” as outside of it and therefore not a part of it. So labels de-humanise and divide society.

Whilst I don’t really want to discuss labels as such, it’s the reason why for 40 years I felt confused, afraid and alone about being transgendered. These days I’m out and about as Danielle, working in the stereotypically macho world of forestry, and yet that fear and confusion has all but disappeared… and I hope this short series of articles can help you break free from your own insecurities. I won’t pretend it’s easy, as I know it’s not, but what I can say is that for me, the biggest fears were of my own making.

IMG_2676

In this series, I hope you will allow me the indulgence of talking about my own life, not because it’s particularly interesting and exciting, but because I hope that you will recognise similar patterns between how I felt and how you may be feeling. And that there is hope for you if you feel anxious or confused.

20140501-165053.jpg

If you would like to contact me to discuss anything regarding this series, or about being transgendered, then please email me at danielle_tg@yahoo.co.uk

Part Two will be here on 1 Dec 2015 – Follow this blog to receive notification

IMG_2556

National Diversity Award Winner, David E. Watters, is a teacher, motivational speaker and writer; a passionate equality advocate, committed to enhancing the lives of young people and adults who may feel marginalised or limited by labels.

As a teacher, he is committed to developing the whole person through creatively challenging students to embrace their unique value, and that of others, to encourage them to fulfill their full potential. He was nominated for an Excellence in Diversity Award 2015, for his contribution to enhancing the diversity agenda within education and for two European Diversity Awards because of his work with the Give ’em Hope Campaign.

IMG_1291-1

Since graduating from The Institute of Education, University of London, David has gone on to train as a mediator, and is a qualified facilitator for The Pacific Institute. 

As Director of NBI Associates, David devises and delivers engaging, enjoyable and interactive Diversity and Cultural Enhancement workshops utilizing Cognitive Behavioural and Performing Arts strategies for individual, corporate and academic clients.

Watters is also the founder and coordinator of the inclusive, inspirational and international Give ‘em Hope Campaign; an online initiative which utilises all available social networks to encourage and uplift those who doubt their validity, feel isolated or limited by labels, through the sharing of written and video testimonies. The campaign was honoured at the National Diversity Awards 2014 when it won the Community Organisation Award (Multi-Strand).

IMG_4532

Watters was a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK; taking the British Government to the European Court of Human Rights in 2010 and successfully achieving Marriage Equality for same-sex couples in the United Kingdom.

His passion and expertise has brought many opportunities to write and speak on social change and his book, NEVER BLEND IN, brings together this wealth of experience and the voices of those whom he has met along the way.

SKYPE: never.blend.in

WEBSITE: www.nbiassociates.co.uk

BOOK WEBPAGE: http://www.nbiassociates.co.uk/Never-Blend-In.html

GIVE ‘EM HOPE CAMPAIGN: http://www.nbiassociates.co.uk/Give–em-Hope-Campaign.html

 

IMG_4530

About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

3 responses to “NEVER BLEND IN – Lose the Label if it’s Limiting YOU – Part One of a Series by D. C Vickers

You must be logged in to post a comment.

