“Disgaybled” by the incomparable John F Szlachetka for neverblendin & The Give ’em Hope Campaign


Disgaybled, an interesting word that someone used on me, this afternoon.  

18882175_10155331636964328_3045910918537517477_n

In today’s society, in Canada, United States, and many other countries, many, in the LGBT community, can live and love freely.   We can get married, and even adopt children.   Everything sounds great in the Rainbow World, doesn’t it?    Not yet, unfortunately.   There is a group of us out there who are out of one pre verbial closet, but then closed into another, because of also being disabled.   At times, it starts from the time our disability happens.    

After a fight with peripheral neuropathy, open wounds, infection, and gangrene, my left leg had to be amputated.   It was difficult to accept, at first, but I knew it was for the best, and that it would save my life.    Many of you know about that part of what has been going on.    Those of you who know me, also know I am gay.  I do not apologize for it, and I am proud of who I am.   However, mix the fact that I am  gay and disabled.  What do you get?  Disgaybled.  

As a Gay man, I lived through some ridicule, some insults, and non acceptance, by some in the straight community.  Now, being disabled, there are those straight people, who have said that I have been punished by God, for being Gay.   I have had others, who have pre judged me, saying I probably have AIDS for being promiscuous, and that is why I lost my leg.  

In the Gay community, it is also difficult for me to be accepted, by some.   We live in a society where looks, body shape, and appearances, are too often, the code lived by.   With certain people in the community, I am looked as being defective, not being able to perform sexually.  Well, my friends, my sexual organs were not amputated, nor were the feeling in my sexual organs, due to having my left leg amputated.    I am a normal hot blooded Gay man, and that has not changed because I am missing a limb.    

Please, do not get me wrong.  I do not need a pity party, nor a pat on the head,   Nor, am I in search of love, because I have it, from my family and my friends.   I am writing this as an eye opener, to everyone out there.    There are some of us, in the LGBT community, who just happen to have some sort of disability, but it does not change the person we are.  Nor, does it mean that we are uglier, because of our disabilities.  

I won’t ask people to share this or pass it on, for there is too much of that on Facebook.   Just remember, that we, the digaybled, are people too and we deserve respect, and acceptance.   By both the Straight, and Gay community!!!

Thank you, to those of you who took the time to read this rant, of mine.  I love you all.


About neverblendin

David Watters, a graduate of Napier University, Edinburgh, Trinity College of Music, London and the Institute of Education, University of London, has worked internationally within education and Educational Management for more than 20 years. He has taught extensively within many socially and culturally diverse settings; most recently as a Head of Performing Arts within Further Education. He is a personal and professional development associate with The Pacific Institute (www.pacificinstitute.co.uk), personal coach, freelance writer and founding member of NBI Associates. He is a writer on social equality issues, is a key player in the Equal Love Campaign UK and author of the forthcoming book, NEVER BLEND IN which features key voices from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and which aims to inspire and encourage those who may lack self-esteem or who question their validity. David is currently promoting a youtube campaign"Give 'em Hope"and is asking individuals, couples and groups to make and share videos telling about the benefits of living with personal authenticity. He has shared a platform with Stuart Milk and Peter Tatchell and is a supporter of 17-24-30, The Trevor Project, Schools Out, The Terrence Higgins Trust, The Albert Kennedy Trust and numerous others. His background in arts and education, combined with a solid understanding of Cognitive Behavioural Strategies, and his passion for Equality Advocacy drive every aspect of his work as a personal development facilitator, motivational speaker and writer. View all posts by neverblendin

You must be logged in to post a comment.

